Writing…. and long live the King.

Inspiration of the day is courtesy of Stephen King. I have been reading his stufff since I was small (and probably should have been reading Nancy Drew instead). I have found over the years that whenever I have gotten stuck in life and taken a few moments of a ‘time-out’, the way he puts together words have been inspiring.

Today is no different.

Writing and editing the memoir I am working on has been tough the last few days. It has punched and kicked back at me, and today I have felt defeated by it. That is until I was reading Mr. King’s book On Writing.

He says:

“You can approach the act of writing with nervousness, excitement, hopefulness or even despair-the sense that you can never completely put on the page what is in your mind and heart. You can come to the act with your fists clenched and your eyes narrowed, ready to kick ass and take down names. You can come to it because you want a girl [guy] to marry you or because you want to change the world. Come to it any way but lightly. Let me say again: YOU MUST NOT COME LIGHTLY TO THE BLANK PAGE.

For that reason, Long live the King.

2 thoughts on “Writing…. and long live the King.

  1. Amen and his words hit me in my writers heart….go for it with grit girl!!!! I hear my Dad telling me “Now MJ you need to ride your horse up that draw and make sure you gather all the stray cattle along the way….do not leave any behind” …in other words ride hard and get every cow:) King is right on….we need to write with passion and heart….and not be intimidated by the glaring blank page we face at times….most of the time I am pretty god but at times I get stuck and worry too….as Nike says though….Just Do It!!!

  2. Thanks for visiting my blog. Yes long live the King, and remember, if you’re not living on the edge, you’re taking up too much space. (a quote from my boss…)Good luck on your book sales.
    Marisa
    Stepping into the Water

Leave a Reply

