Embrace your Trajectory!

Much of the stress in our life is caused by doing things we would rather not be doing. Expectations of others (and ourselves) which we are trying to live up to.
Well, my friends, I am here to tell you,
Stop it.

Stop trying to live for someone else, be what they want you to be, and fulfilling an imaginary expectation that you will never fulfill.

Just stop it now.

Instead, Embrace your Trajectory!
You are an amazing person with talents, gifts, abilities and passions that are just waiting to be shared with the world. Embrace those things! It is the simple questions of:

* What were you born to do?
* What does your heart tell you to do?

Most of our lives we waste spend chasing food, sex, attention, knowledge, security and – most of all – money. I’m not saying that these things are not important, what i am saying is that these things become very empty very fast if we aren’t living a life we love.

This is a lesson I learned the hard way.

It’s not easy to take steps toward doing what you love for a living, but the three steps are simple.

First: Identify your passion.

I found, I loved writing. I loved writing even more when I was traveling. The change in scenery, the new people and cultures just seemed to spurn my creative juices. My passion is traveling and writing. That is it, pretty simple.

Second: Develop Competency
Take a class, improve your skills somehow. You don’t have to be the best, your passion will make up for lack of natural talent. But, you do need to constantly improve.
I flunked English in high school, and I do not have an MFA or any writing credentials or education under my belt. But, I love it AND, I am willing to put some work in to make up for my lack of formal education. Which means, I’m reading more than I ever have, I am going to writers workshops and meet ups, and studying.

Third: Find a way to market yourself doing what you love.
Tell everyone you know what you are doing, what your passion is, what your dreams and goals are. I bet you will be surprised at how much support you get. Set up Facebook, Twitter, Tumbler and other Social Media pages for what you are doing. Look into partnerships, collaborations and other ways of getting the word out. Go to festivals, meet-ups, and get out there!

I write about this, because I am still in the midst of this process. It is a daunting task and I understand why more people stay in lives and jobs they hate rather than take a proactive approach to change.
Change causes stress.
Unhappiness causes stress.
It ends up being a damned if you do, damned if you don’t scenerio.

HOWEVER (this is a big however), I do know of some people who have done these things very well. Forged the way for people like me (a list of these folks are below).

Besides wouldn’t you rather live with a smile on your face doing what you love?

List of awesome people who are living their passion.
Nye Walker – Computer & Website awesomeness
Angel True – Life Coach
Endi Clark – A Producer of Bellydance Uncorked
Krisha Cat – Owner of Pole for the Soul
Katrina McCoy – Owner of Skin Deep Dance
Allen Sparks – Artist and Craftsman
Caelan Huntress – Pura Vida MultiMedia

There are a ton of other people out there (many who don’t show up on a google search – and even more who I have forgotten to list) with incredible talents and abilities they have yet to advertise. Shop local! Support the people who are pursuing their passions, and take a step today to cultivate and embrace your own trajectory!

(and if you are still stressed, you can always get one of my books)

2 thoughts on “Embrace your Trajectory!

  1. The equation I found that works for me in life is:

    (Desire + Effort) – Self-Criticism = Success

    When I let go of the self-criticism, and just started focusing on the things I loved, whether I made money from them or not, that the creative juices started flowing. Absolutely agree with your post here 🙂

Leave a Reply

